top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen Liu

Research Week 4

Tuesday

I had a private lesson with my tutor today regarding a tutorial in Neo soul chords and here are a few points I noted down.


• One of the biggest trait of Neo Soul is the use of dynamics, the dynamic for each songs are generally very quiet and gentle, only play loud when you want to flesh out certain chord progression or melodies.


• Neo Soul songs usually don't have a specific key, they will jump from key to key and use sus chords to create an ambiguous feeling.


• One of the signature move in Neo Soul is to keep the melody the exact same not but use different chords when playing them, I will demonstrate in the future.


References

Unfortunately I cannot reveal the name of the author as he wish to remain anonymous.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page